Environment & Land Use

All Agenda's and Minutes
General Information

Five (5) Board Members, two (2) of which also serve on the Extension Education & Communication Committee, three (3) of which represent predominantly rural areas of the County, and two (2) of which represent predominantly urban areas of the County, Two (2) Non-Board Members, one (1) of which is primarily engaged in livestock agriculture and one (1) of which represents the interests of the Town Boards, The Farm Service Agency (FSA) Board Chair (or his/her designee), whom shall receive copies of all meeting agendas and serves as a member of the committee on such agenda items as required by WI Stat. 92. 

Board Members of the Environment and Land Use Committee shall serve 2-year terms commencing in April of even numbered years, Non-Board Members shall serve 2-year terms commencing in April of odd numbered years. 

A quorum for this committee is defined as a majority of the authorized number of committee members.  The authorized number of committee members shall be seven (7) unless the meeting agenda includes items as required by WI Stat. 92, at which time the authorized number of the committee members shall be eight (8). 

Appointed By:

Appointed by County Chair 

Term: 2 years 


The Board meets on the 1st Wednesday of each month. 


  1. Direction and supervision of the Department of Land Management. 
  2. Set policies for the Department of Land Management. 
  3. Develop and maintain a County Comprehensive Land Use Plan. 
  4. Develop, implement, and maintain a County Comprehensive Zoning Ordinance. 
  5. Develop, implement, and maintain a County Land and Water Resource Management Plan. 
  6. Develop, implement, and maintain a County Department of Land Management Plan. 
  7. Ensure compliance with the Agricultural and Non-Agricultural Performance Standards and Prohibitions of NR 151. 
  8. Ensure compliance with WI Stats. 20, 59, 60, 91, 92 and 281, and Administrative Rules A-E 7, NR 120, NR 151, ATCP 50, and ATCP 51. 
  9. Conduct Public Hearings as required. 
  10. Carry out the duties of the Land Conservation Committee and the Planning & Zoning Committee as referenced in WI Stats. and local ordinances. 

 Kellen Nelson, Chair April 2026
 David Larson, Vice-Chair April 2026
 Randy Severson, Secretary April 2025
 Andy Todd April 2026
 Anthony Monson April 2025
 Kevin Whalen April 2026
 Stacey Klein  April 2026

For more information about the Environmental & Land Use Committee that is not addressed on the County's website please contact the County Clerk’s Office at (715) 538-2311 
Contact Us